Teche Regional Medical Center Appoints a New Member to Board of Trustees


Butch Frazier, Chief Executive Officer of Teche Regional Medical Center announced today that David Naquin has been appointed and agreed to serve on the Teche Regional Medical Center Board of Trustees.  “We would like to welcome Mr. Naquin to our Board of Trustees.  We have a tremendous opportunity to serve our community and I feel that he will help us achieve that goal,” said Frazier.


Originally from Franklin, Louisiana, David graduated from Franklin Senior High School and attended Northeast Louisiana University in Monroe on a football scholarship.  He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice in 1976. 


He began his law enforcement career in 1974, with the Monroe Police Department. He has served as a jailer, dispatcher, patrol officer, and detective.  In 1981, he became the Police Chief of the City of Franklin; in 1990 became the Chief Deputy for the St. Mary Parish Sheriff’s Office.  David was elected Sheriff of St. Mary Parish in 1995 and served in that capacity until he retired in July of 2011.


David has been involved in the St. Mary Parish community for most of his life. He and his wife Joy have two children and three granddaughters. He has been involved with coaching various sporting activities, helped to maintain the DARE program in our schools when funding became an issue, and being an auctioneer to help raise money for area high schools, Ducks Unlimited, and other local organizations. 


David has served on the St. Mary Free to Grow Program, and is currently a board member of the Atchafalaya Chapter of the American Petroleum Institute, and a member of St. Mary Industrial Group, St Mary Landmarks Society, and former chairman of the St. Mary Parish Red Ribbon Committee.  In 2003, David was the recipient of the Distinguished Citizen Award presented by the Evangeline Area Council of the Boys Scouts of America. 


“We are very excited about Mr. Naquin joining our Board of Trustees. With his help, we will continue to recruit new physicians, improve and expand medical technology, improve the physical appearance of the hospital, and continually concentrate on patient, employee, and physician satisfaction,” said Frazier.    


The Board of Trustees meet on a monthly basis and act as an advisory board for the hospital.  They are involved in strategic planning and make decisions based on the needs of our community.  Current board members include Chairman, Larry Callais, Tim Hebert, Mary Hartman, Rebecca Conrad, Kimberly Thorguson, M.D., and Frazier.


Back to News Listing